Windows 7 or 8? Apple?

A place to discuss anything... except credit cards!
53 posts
User avatar
lobbythis
Centurion Member
Centurion Member
 
Posts: 637
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2014 8:53 pm
Location: usa

Re: Windows 7 or 8? Apple?

Postby lobbythis » Sat Jun 13, 2015 11:28 pm

You can try switching to the integrated port on the board and see if it is sufficient enough. I don't know what you're using the computer for, but if it's like me where it's mainly work and no gaming, you may be totally fine. They don't list the specs and that computer is more than likely customized for Costco.

Otherwise, yes, separate card is always better. The specs look fine to me and 4K at 60Hz should be plenty for standard operation.


User avatar
CarefulBuilder14
Centurion Member
Centurion Member
 
Posts: 4210
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 7:42 pm
Location: United States

Re: Windows 7 or 8? Apple?

Postby CarefulBuilder14 » Sun Jun 14, 2015 12:09 am

It seems odd that there are so many more Displayport-to-HDMI adapters than HDMI-to-Displayport ones (what I actually need). The ones I can find only seem to work at 1080.

I may end up just going the "pure" HDMI route at 1080 for the time being. It seems adapters are made in every arrangement except the one I need.

So much for avoiding a headache by just buying a prepackaged bundle!

* I think this would work?

http://www.amazon.com/DisplayPort-Converter-Support-Resolution-monitors/dp/B00WM6MPGC/ref=sr_1_21?ie=UTF8&qid=1434257526&sr=8-21&keywords=%22hdmi+to+displayport%22

**Well, I just bought it, so I hope it works. I started an Amazon Prime trial, too. I don't have Netflix, so the instant video will probably be worth $99/yr to me as a continuing membership.
Very useful: SchwabPlat, CSP, IHG, Costco (was AA Plat), Freedom, SPG, Prestige (retention)
Somewhat useful: Discover, ED (was EDP), BCE, Hyatt
SD with activity alerts, might close: Arrival

Might add: Proper business card, CSR, Ritz, Delta Gold, First Tech, BofA Travel PH, Aviator Red

User avatar
lobbythis
Centurion Member
Centurion Member
 
Posts: 637
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2014 8:53 pm
Location: usa

Re: Windows 7 or 8? Apple?

Postby lobbythis » Sun Jun 14, 2015 2:16 am

It looks like that adapter maxes out at 30Hz for 4K, so you could run 3840x2160 at 30Hz according to Nvidia, but not the 60Hz. I would not recommended running anything less than 60Hz though, so just see how you like 1080p and if you want more, the monitor has all the power to do so and you'd just need a different adapter. Luckily, they aren't too expensive.

Like I said, no reason to take such a nice setup back. It's just not user-friendly since the transition to 4K is going to take forever, with media content and hardware, before it becomes mainstream. My HP business machine has an integrated DisplayPort, but I only have a 1080p monitor. So I had to play the conversion game too, but downgrading to 1080p is easier than upconverting to 4K. I use my monitor as a TV as well and a 4K TV is more than I feel like investing in right now.

User avatar
CarefulBuilder14
Centurion Member
Centurion Member
 
Posts: 4210
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 7:42 pm
Location: United States

Re: Windows 7 or 8? Apple?

Postby CarefulBuilder14 » Sun Jun 14, 2015 2:24 am

lobbythis wrote:It looks like that adapter maxes out at 30Hz for 4K, so you could run 3840x2160 at 30Hz according to Nvidia, but not the 60Hz. I would not recommended running anything less than 60Hz though, so just see how you like 1080p and if you want more, the monitor has all the power to do so and you'd just need a different adapter. Luckily, they aren't too expensive.

Like I said, no reason to take such a nice setup back. It's just not user-friendly since the transition to 4K is going to take forever, with media content and hardware, before it becomes mainstream. My HP business machine has an integrated DisplayPort, but I only have a 1080p monitor. So I had to play the conversion game too, but downgrading to 1080p is easier than upconverting to 4K. I use my monitor as a TV as well and a 4K TV is more than I feel like investing in right now.

Well, please let me know if you stumble on a more suitable adapter! I've been looking and that was the best one I could find.
Very useful: SchwabPlat, CSP, IHG, Costco (was AA Plat), Freedom, SPG, Prestige (retention)
Somewhat useful: Discover, ED (was EDP), BCE, Hyatt
SD with activity alerts, might close: Arrival

Might add: Proper business card, CSR, Ritz, Delta Gold, First Tech, BofA Travel PH, Aviator Red

Vermonster
Centurion Member
Centurion Member
 
Posts: 725
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 11:09 pm
Location: NJ

Re: Windows 7 or 8? Apple?

Postby Vermonster » Sun Jun 14, 2015 5:01 pm

There is no reason not to use the graphics card. If you are going to use onboard video then you are not getting 100% of what you paid for. That would jsut bother me.

Ok, I found a lot of threads on the Dell forums talking about this exact issue. Aparantly all Dell 4k monitors have issues with the DP. The only solution is to...I'm not making this up... "pull the power cable from the monitor and plug it back in. Immediately, the display is recognized again by the computer"

http://en.community.dell.com/support-fo ... t/19600249
Chase Freedom $9k~~Chase Sapphire Preferred $6.5k~~Amex Blue Cash Preferred $12.4k~~Citi Double Cash $4.7k

User avatar
lobbythis
Centurion Member
Centurion Member
 
Posts: 637
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2014 8:53 pm
Location: usa

Re: Windows 7 or 8? Apple?

Postby lobbythis » Mon Jun 15, 2015 1:22 am

That's crazy if that's true. CarefulBuilder will have to let us know.

I think that monitor is like $700 by itself. I just can't imagine it would have silly problems like that for such a premium device, if that is the case.

User avatar
CarefulBuilder14
Centurion Member
Centurion Member
 
Posts: 4210
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 7:42 pm
Location: United States

Re: Windows 7 or 8? Apple?

Postby CarefulBuilder14 » Mon Jun 15, 2015 12:27 pm

lobbythis wrote:That's crazy if that's true. CarefulBuilder will have to let us know.

I think that monitor is like $700 by itself. I just can't imagine it would have silly problems like that for such a premium device, if that is the case.

I've seen that complaint before, but just in old threads. My monitor has a manufacture date of April 2015, so (I hope) Dell has already fixed the flaw.

My adapter should arrive by tomorrow night, so I'll know more then.
Very useful: SchwabPlat, CSP, IHG, Costco (was AA Plat), Freedom, SPG, Prestige (retention)
Somewhat useful: Discover, ED (was EDP), BCE, Hyatt
SD with activity alerts, might close: Arrival

Might add: Proper business card, CSR, Ritz, Delta Gold, First Tech, BofA Travel PH, Aviator Red

User avatar
CarefulBuilder14
Centurion Member
Centurion Member
 
Posts: 4210
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 7:42 pm
Location: United States

Re: Windows 7 or 8? Apple?

Postby CarefulBuilder14 » Tue Jun 16, 2015 9:12 pm

The adapter fixed the port incompatibility issue, but I'm having some other issues with the monitor signal. The resolution is astounding - when the monitor actually works. When the computer goes into sleep mode, getting the monitor working again is not an easy process.

For a $1,500 computer, I'm not putting up with any big problems. I'll fiddle with it tomorrow a bit, but I strongly suspect I'll be returning it. The return window is actually 90 days, so I have about 2 months more to go.

I'm not against buying another Costco computer - the others I've gotten have been great - but I will probably avoid buying one that has no reviews yet.
Very useful: SchwabPlat, CSP, IHG, Costco (was AA Plat), Freedom, SPG, Prestige (retention)
Somewhat useful: Discover, ED (was EDP), BCE, Hyatt
SD with activity alerts, might close: Arrival

Might add: Proper business card, CSR, Ritz, Delta Gold, First Tech, BofA Travel PH, Aviator Red

User avatar
lobbythis
Centurion Member
Centurion Member
 
Posts: 637
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2014 8:53 pm
Location: usa

Re: Windows 7 or 8? Apple?

Postby lobbythis » Wed Jun 17, 2015 1:28 am

What is it doing when the computer comes back from sleep?

My $300 Asus just recognizes whatever port is active automatically so I don't even have to touch it unless I have two ports active at once. I would assume that Dell operates in the same way. Not sure why it would have problems unless that adapter is finicky.

My adapter that converts DisplayPort to HDMI has never caused an issue on my Samsung TV, but on my old setup, I had multiple computers connected to a single TV using an HDMI splitter and that thing always failed to switch to the proper active port. But, if it is causing too much headache for you, just return it and find a computer and monitor that both have DisplayPorts or HDMI 2.0 ports so you can get that 4K without any issues.

User avatar
CarefulBuilder14
Centurion Member
Centurion Member
 
Posts: 4210
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 7:42 pm
Location: United States

Re: Windows 7 or 8? Apple?

Postby CarefulBuilder14 » Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:26 am

lobbythis wrote:What is it doing when the computer comes back from sleep?

My $300 Asus just recognizes whatever port is active automatically so I don't even have to touch it unless I have two ports active at once. I would assume that Dell operates in the same way. Not sure why it would have problems unless that adapter is finicky.

My adapter that converts DisplayPort to HDMI has never caused an issue on my Samsung TV, but on my old setup, I had multiple computers connected to a single TV using an HDMI splitter and that thing always failed to switch to the proper active port. But, if it is causing too much headache for you, just return it and find a computer and monitor that both have DisplayPorts or HDMI 2.0 ports so you can get that 4K without any issues.

If I click the mouse or press a button on the keyboard, the tower starts flashing lights and whirring - clear signs of some activity. The monitor is completely unresponsive, though. If I turn the computer on in a "fresh" start from being totally shut down, the monitor doesn't even turn on normally - most of the time.

I'd be less worried if I hadn't gotten it to work at all - but I have. It's worked smoothly (at times), but very inconsistently. It's just worlds away from being a machine worth what I paid.
Very useful: SchwabPlat, CSP, IHG, Costco (was AA Plat), Freedom, SPG, Prestige (retention)
Somewhat useful: Discover, ED (was EDP), BCE, Hyatt
SD with activity alerts, might close: Arrival

Might add: Proper business card, CSR, Ritz, Delta Gold, First Tech, BofA Travel PH, Aviator Red



Return to “The Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests